strategykasce.blogg.se

Wd my passport for mac 500gb
Wd my passport for mac 500gb











wd my passport for mac 500gb
  1. #Wd my passport for mac 500gb portable#
  2. #Wd my passport for mac 500gb password#
  3. #Wd my passport for mac 500gb Pc#

Since this WD My Passport Edge is aimed at PC users, we used our current PC consumer testing platform equipped with USB3.

#Wd my passport for mac 500gb portable#

The USB cord is about a foot and a half long, just right for most portable and even desktop-based needs. The drive is bus-powered, so there’s no need for external power supply. The drive is hardly taller than the cable height, when the included USB 3.0 cord is inserted. Of course the WD My Passport Edge uses USB 3.0 in the PC version, just like the Mac Edge. To gain access to the drive inside, the case must be pried apart, which is likely to crack the clips inside that hold the enclosure together. The rubber feet are stuck on, but don’t cover screw holes. When flipped over, we can see WD includes four rubber feet, to keep the drive from slipping around on a flat surface like a desk. Compared to the metal Mac version, the PC Edge still looks good, with it’s grey dotted lid, but it does give away some of the elegance the Mac solution offers. When tossed inside a backpack or briefcase, it will surely live up to the daily bumps and jostling it’s designed to withstand. While the body is plastic, it’s still rigid around the edges, and only flexes at the top under heavy pressure. The Edge for PC is just half an inch tall, making it barely thicker than the 2.5″ hard drive inside. Software: SmartWare, WD Security, WD Drive Utilities.Temperature: Operating 41° F to 95° F, Non-operating -4° F to 149° F.Dimensions: Height 0.50 Inches x Depth 4.34 Inches x Width 3.21 Inches.WD My Passport Edge for PC Specifications The My Passport Edge for PC currently retails for $89.99, $10 less than the metal-bodied Mac version.

#Wd my passport for mac 500gb password#

In addition to the backup software, WD also includes drive security and utilities applications that help users password protect the contents of the drive and monitor drive health. The single SKU does make it easier to compete though in retail, where shelf space is tight for accessories like this. The My Passport Edge for PC comes in a simple single color, single capacity configuration, though WD has been known to add more style options and colors to their portable external drives in the past. And because many PC users don’t have backup software, WD includes SmartWare, to give PC users an automated backup and recovery application.

wd my passport for mac 500gb

My Passport Edge for PC though, uses a different enclosure design, opting for decorated plastic shell instead of the aluminum enclosure in the Mac version. We recently reviewed the My Passport Edge for Mac, which like its PC brother offers 500GB of hard drive storage and USB 3.0. Last month WD released a pair of thin portable hard drives that constitute the My Passport Edge family.













Wd my passport for mac 500gb